Thursday, February 19, 2009

So long Amar'e...

This is exactly what I was expecting but what I did not want to happen, yet it did! All this talk about getting Amar'e Stoudemire meant the exact opposite - the Bulls were getting two players, who combined together do not amount to the quality of one Amar'e. Once again I was suckered in by all this trade talk, and once again I was let down.

Over and over again Bulls management fails to bring in the "big names" because the organization is so cautious about getting rid off the "talent" wearing the Bulls uniforms. The management failed to pull the trigger on some major names before (Gasol, Garnett and even Kobe) because it overrated its roster. The deadline came and went 2 p.m. E.T. on Thursday, and unlike in the years past not a lot of teams were after the likes of Gordon, Deng and Hinrich.

Getting Miller and Salmons from the Kings on Wednesday helps a little bit but not to the extent Stoudemire would have, obviously. Chicago finally got rid off one half of "Cleveland Garbage" (my dad's nickname for Gooden and Hughes) and while I'm sad to see "Noce" go (along with Gooden in the trade to Sacramento), he has had five years here and it is hard to think he will improve much more in Chicago. He will probably enjoy the change of scenery as well.

I was glad and upset at the same time when I heard that the Bulls have traded the other half of the "Cleveland Garbage," - Larry Hughes to the New York Knicks for Jerome James and Tim Thomas.

Why?

Because of what we got in return for him and his ridiculous salary - Tim Thomas!
Yes, the same Tim Thomas who asked to be traded out of Chicago a couple years ago. So, while we did got rid off Hughes (finally) we got a no name player in return - Jerome James and a player who did not want to be here anyways. Not to forget that their salaries are about the same and that's the reason Hughes needed to be traded to begin with.

What is Paxson doing?

I know there are rumors about his resignation in the near future and if that is the case, way to leave with a bang, Pax! The Bulls might be slightly improved after these deals but we did not land a star yet again. Go figure!
Maybe, just maybe, Paxson will surprise us all by signing a star come this July. Maybe a stud free agent will come here in 2010.

Please, we all know better than this. D-Rose, you are on your own big guy...make us proud!

No comments:

Post a Comment